

MOTION NO. M2018-169

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing the Sound Transit Board Chair and two Vice Chairs for a two-year term each, beginning January 1, 2019.

BACKGROUND:

Section 2.D. of Resolution 1-1 (Amended), the Board's Rules and Operating Procedures, states that terms of the Board officers shall be set at two years. The terms of Dave Somers, the current Chair, and Ron Lucas and John Marchione, the current Vice Chairs of the Sound Transit Board expire on December 31, 2018.

Section 2.E. of Resolution No. 1-1 (Amended) specifies that the Executive Committee shall meet in November of the year officers' terms expire to develop a recommendation for consideration by the Board. The resolution also stipulates that the Chair and Vice Chairs must be from different counties.

On November 1, 2018, the Executive Committee voted to delay nominations for Board officers to the December Executive Committee meeting. On December 13, 2018, the Executive Committee voted to recommend that the Board elect John Marchione from King County for Board Chair, Ron Lucas from Pierce County for Vice Chair and Paul Roberts from Snohomish County for Vice Chair.

MOTION:

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that John Marchione from King County be elected Board Chair, Ron Lucas from Pierce County be elected Vice Chair and Paul Roberts from Snohomish County be elected Vice Chair for two-year terms, effective January 1, 2019, and ending December 31, 2020.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular

meeting thereof held on December 20, 2018.

Dave Somers Board Chair

ATTEST:

Kathryn Fores Board Administrator

Motion No. M2018-169 Page 1 of 1