SOUND TRANSIT

MOTION NO. M98-86

Appointing Chair, Vice Chair and Membership of Permanent Committees And the Real Estate/TOD Subcommittee

BACKGROUND AND COMMENTS

Meeting:	Date:	Type of Action:	Staff Contact:	Phone:
Executive Committee	12/4/98	Action	Marcia Walker	206-684-1639

ACTION:

Approve Motion No. M98-86, confirming the Board Chair's recommendations for chair, vice chair and membership of Sound Transit's permanent committees (Executive Committee, Finance Committee, and Public and Government Affairs Committee) and the real estate/transit oriented development subcommittee.

BACKGROUND:

In March 1998, the Board re-elected to two-year terms: Bob Drewel, Chair; Greg Nickels, Vice Chair; Paul Miller, Vice Chair. In August 1998 Board Chair Drewel resigned as chair and the Board elected Paul Miller, Chair; Greg Nickels, Vice Chair; Dave Earling, Vice Chair. In July 1998, the Sound Transit Board revised the responsibilities of its permanent committees, which included the formation of the real estate/transit-oriented development subcommittee of the executive committee. Those actions affect the composition of the Board's permanent committees. Motion No. M98-86 assigns committee membership.

RELEVANT BOARD POLICIES AND PREVIOUS ACTIONS TAKEN:

- Adoption of Resolution No. 80 on January 23, 1997 Sound Transit Board's rules and operating procedures
 - Section 16 of Resolution No. 80 outlines the responsibilities of the executive committee; one of those responsibilities is to review and confirm the recommendations by the Chair concerning assignments and the appointment of chairpersons for standing committees.
- Motion No. M98-55 on July 23, 1998 Adopting the revised responsibilities for Sound Transit Board's permanent committees

SOUND TRANSIT

MOTION NO. M98-86

A motion of the Executive Committee of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority confirming the Board Chair's recommendations for chair, vice chair and membership of Sound Transit's permanent committees (Executive Committee, Finance Committee, and Public and Government Affairs Committee) and the real estate/transit oriented development subcommittee.

Background:

In March 1998, the Board re-elected to two-year terms: Bob Drewel, Chair; Greg Nickels, Vice Chair; Paul Miller, Vice Chair. In August 1998 Board Chair Drewel resigned as chair and the Board elected Paul Miller, Chair; Greg Nickels, Vice Chair; Dave Earling, Vice Chair. In July 1998, the Sound Transit Board revised the responsibilities of its permanent committees, which included the formation of the real estate/transit-oriented development subcommittee of the executive committee. Those actions affect the composition of the Board's permanent committees. Motion No. M98-66 assigns committee membership.

Motion:

It is hereby moved by the Executive Committee of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority confirming the Board Chair's recommendations as follows:

Executive Committee

Paul Miller, Chair
Bob Drewel, Vice Chair
Dave Earling
Mary Gates
Jane Hague
Richard McIver
Greg Nickels
Paul Schell
Ron Sims
Cynthia Sullivan
Doug Sutherland

Finance Committee

Greg Nickels, Chair Mary Gates, Vice Chair Dave Enslow Ed Hansen Rob McKenna Paul Miller Cynthia Sullivan

Public and Government Affairs Committee

Dave Earling, Chair Richard McIver, Vice Chair Ann Davis Dave Russell Cynthia Sullivan Doug Sutherland Jim White

Real Estate/Transit Oriented Development Subcommittee

Cynthia Sullivan, Chair Dave Enslow Mary Gates Richard McIver Jim White

Paul Miller

Board Chair

ATTEST:

Marcia Walker
Board Administrator

Motion No. M98-86 Page 2 of 2