SOUND TRANSIT

MOTION NO. M99-93

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing Mr. Dave Earling as Board Chair, with Mr. Doug Sutherland and Mr. Greg Nickels serving as Vice Chairs, for a two-year term commencing January 1, 2000.

Background:

Paul Miller, the current Chair of the Sound Transit Board, will no longer serve on the Board as of December 31, 1999. The Executive Committee met on December 3 and took action to temporarily suspend the rules of procedure for developing recommendations to the Board for officers whose terms are expiring. Section 2.A. of the Board's rules and operating procedures specifies that the Executive Committee shall meet during January of each calendar year to develop the recommendation for officers. Following the motion to suspend the rules, the Executive Committee took action to nominate Mr. Earling as Chair, and Mr. Sutherland and Mr. Nickels as Vice Chairs, so that the Board Chair position could be filled follwing Mr. Miller's departure.

Motion:

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that Dave Earling be elected Board Chair, with Doug Sutherland and Greg Nickels serving as Vice Chairs, for a two-year term commencing January 1, 2000.

Approved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof on the 9th day of December, 1999.

aul E. Miller

Board Chair

ATTEST:

Jarcia Walker

Marcia Walker Board Administrator