SOUND TRANSIT SPECIAL BOARD MEETING Summary Minutes March 2, 2005

Call to Order

The special meeting was called to order at 11:35 a.m. by Board Chair John Ladenburg, in the Sound Transit Board Room, 401 South Jackson Street, Seattle, Washington.

Mr. Ladenburg announced that at its February 24, 2005 meeting, the Board unanimously approved a motion to temporarily suspend the rules for today's meeting.

Since the Board would be considering only one action item, the rules were suspended to permit more than 25% of the Board members to attend by teleconference and to authorize any Board member not able to attend today in person to be recorded as present and to participate and vote by telephone.

He indicated that two Board members would be participating via teleconference, Connie Marshall and Julia Patterson.

Roll Call

Chair

(P) John Ladenburg, Pierce County Executive

Vice Chairs

- (P) Greg Nickels, City of Seattle Mayor
- (A) Mark Olson, Everett City Councilmember
- (P) Fred Butler, Issaquah Deputy Council President
- (P) Jack Crawford, Kenmore City Councilmember
- (P) David Enslow, City of Sumner Deputy Mayor
- (A) Doug MacDonald, WSDOT Secretary
- (P) Connie Marshall, City of Bellevue Mayor (via teleconference)
- (A) Richard McIver, Seattle City Councilmember
- (P) Julia Patterson, King County Councilmember (via teleconference)
- (P) Dwight Pelz, King County Councilmember

- (P) Kevin Phelps, Tacoma City Councilmember
- (P) Larry Phillips, King County Council Chair
- (A) Aaron Reardon, Snohomish County Executive
- (A) Ron Sims, King County Executive
- (P) Jack Start, Mill Creek City Councilmember
- (P) Claudia Thomas, Lakewood City Councilmember
- (A) Pete von Reichbauer, King County Council Vice Chair

Ms. Marcia Walker, Board Administrator, indicated a quorum of the Board was present at roll call.

Public Comment

The following individuals presented comments to the Board. Comments are on file with the Board Administrator.

Mr. Paul W. Locke

Mr. Will Knedlik, COST Alliance

Action Items

Resolution No. R2005-07 Resolution No. R2005-07 – A resolution of the Board of Directors of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority providing for the sale and issuance of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority sales tax bonds, series 2005A; specifying the amount, maturities, interest rates and other terms of the 2005A bonds; providing for bond insurance; and ratifying, confirming, and approving the purchase contract for the 2005A bonds and actions of the Chief Financial Officer relating to the sale of the 2005A bonds.

Mr. Ladenburg stated that the vote on Resolution No. R2005-07 would be conducted by roll call, because the resolution would amend the 2005 Adopted Budget, which requires a two-thirds affirmative vote (twelve board members) of the entire Board membership.

It was moved by Mr. Phelps, seconded by Mr. Crawford, and carried by the unanimous vote of all twelve Board members present that Resolution No. R2005-07 be approved as presented.

The roll call vote results were as follows:

Fred Butler	Yes	Dwight Pelz	Yes
Jack Crawford	Yes	Kevin Phelps	Yes
David Enslow	Yes	Larry Phillips	Absent
Doug MacDonald	Absent	Aaron Reardon	Absent
Connie Marshall (via teleconference)	Yes	Ron Sims	Yes
Richard McIver	Absent	Jack Start	Yes
Greg Nickels	Yes	Claudia Thomas	Absent
Mark Olson	Absent	Pete von Reichbauer	Yes
Julia Patterson (via teleconference)	Yes	John Ladenburg	Yes

Other Business

None.

Next Meeting

Thursday, March 10, 2005 from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Union Station Board Room, Seattle, Washington

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 12:08 p.m.

ATTEST:

Marcia Walker Board Administrator John W. Ladenburg

Board Ohair