SOUND TRANSIT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION INVESTMENT DISTRICT EXECUTIVE BOARD JOINT MEETING Summary Minutes December 7, 2006

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 10:15 a.m. by Chair John Ladenburg in the Ruth Fisher Boardroom, 401 South Jackson Street, Seattle, Washington.

Chair Ladenburg announced that today is a joint meeting with Sound Transit's Executive Committee and the Regional Transportation Investment District Executive Board. He will be facilitating today's meeting.

Roll Call

<u>Chair</u>

(P) John W. Ladenburg, Pierce County Executive

Vice Chairs

(P) Connie Marshall, Bellevue Council member

(P) Mark Olson, Everett Council member

(P) Fred Butler, Issaquah Council member

(A) Doug MacDonald, WSDOT Secretary

(A) Greg Nickels, Seattle Mayor

(A) Larry Phillips, King County Council member(P) Aaron Reardon, Snohomish County Executive

(P) Ron Sims, King County Executive

Marcia Walker, Board Administrator, announced that a quorum of the Sound Transit Executive Committee was present at roll call.

Chair Ladenburg announced that Sound Transit's Executive Committee will adjourn their meeting, and then RTID will conduct its regular business agenda thereafter.

Chair Shawn Bunney called the RTID Executive Board meeting to order at 10:17 a.m.

Ms. Walker conducted roll call and announced that a quorum of the Sound Transit Executive Board was present at roll call.

Welcome and Introductory Comments

Chair Ladenburg announced that next week the Sound Transit Board will review a draft package based on the work that has taken place over the last two years and is scheduled to adopt a draft package in January.

Chair Bunney announced that staff will provide an update on the coordination efforts between Sound Transit and RTID, including work on public involvement and issues regarding a joint ballot. He mentioned that he, along with Chair Ladenburg and Vice-Chair Patterson, met with the Governor shortly before Thanksgiving weekend. Janet Masuo conducted roll call and announced that a quorum of the RTID Executive Board was present.

Chair Ladenburg announced that today that the Washington State Supreme Court handed down its decision on I-776. By an 8-1 vote, the court upheld the collection of Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes throughout the life of the existing bonds despite the passage of I-776 in 2002. The MVET was pledged when the bonds were issued in 1999.

Public Involvement Update

Anne Fennessy from Cocker Fennessy gave a presentation on public involvement efforts between Sound Transit and RTID to receive public comment on the proposed transportation package. Both agencies conducted a joint public outreach campaign which included open houses, newsletters, and presentations to community, civic, and government organizations. Over 600 people attended the five joint open houses conducted earlier this year.

Sound Transit and RTID also conducted their own separate campaigns, which included online surveys, e-newsletters, open public houses, and presentations. Sound Transit and WSDOT conducted surveys earlier this year; the general conclusions are that solving transportation problems and traffic gridlock is the highest priority for the public, and they are willing to invest in a comprehensive and integrated transportation package.

Progress Since October 5 Joint Meeting

Chief Communications Officer Ric Ilgenfritz and Jim Waldo from RTID gave a staff presentation on the coordination efforts between the agencies. Mr. Ilgenfritz mentioned that both Sound Transit and RTID have updated their cost estimates for the proposed projects and put them through a planning level risk assessment. Last week, Sound Transit held a board workshop; staff was given further direction in designing a preferred draft transit plan. This plan is scheduled for discussion on December 14, with adoption in January 2007. The plan would then be put out for public comment in February and March, with final adoption in April 2007.

Mr. Waldo described RTID's progress since October; which has gone through a similar process as Sound Transit's. RTID plans to consult with the three counties over the next two weeks about its proposed road projects.

Both agencies are working on construction sequencing to determine which projects should be built sooner and which ones should be built later.

Discussion Item – Joint Ballot Measure

Mr. Ilgenfritz and Mr. Waldo gave a background on the current statutory requirement for two contingent ballots in order for the proposed transportation package to pass. To avoid boundary issues and possible voter confusion related to having two separate ballot questions, staff had been directed at the last joint meeting to explore options for providing a single combined measure to voters.

Mr. Waldo discussed the idea of a "single ballot/duel majority" vote, where there would be a single ballot question for both residents within the Sound Transit boundary and residents within the RTID boundary. If the package is approved in both districts, the transportation package is approved. If the package is approved, residents living within the RTID boundary but outside the Sound Transit

boundary would not pay the RTA tax. A similar model was used when King County Metro was created in 1958.

Sound Transit legal counsel Desmond Brown explained why legislative action would be needed to allow a single ballot/duel majority vote. Mr. Waldo explained that the proposed legislation would include language that would allow any formal challenge to be taken directly to the State Supreme Court before the November 2007 vote. Chair Ladenburg reminded the committees that if the changes to the legislation are not made, the agencies would still be able to continue on with the original two separate ballot questions approach in November.

Next Steps

The joint meeting will be scheduled in February 2007 (date to be determined).

Next Meeting

Thursday, January 4, 2007 10:00 to 11:30 a.m. Ruth Fisher Boardroom

<u>Adjourn</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 11:12 a.m.

ATTEST:

Ino Kak)

Marcia Walker **Board Administrator**

John W. Zadenburg

Executive Committee Chair