

MOTION NO. M2016-79

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority appointing committees to prepare arguments for approval and rejection of the Sound Transit proposition to be submitted to the voters at the general election to be held within the Sound Transit district on November 8, 2016.

BACKGROUND:

At a regular meeting of the Sound Transit Board on June 23, 2016, the Board of Directors adopted Resolution No. R2016-17 calling for an election to be held on November 8, 2016 to propose local taxes to implement Sound Transit 3: The Regional Transit System Plan for Central Puget Sound.

By Resolution No. R2016-16, the Sound Transit Board of Directors adopted the Sound Transit 3 Plan, together with related appendices, on June 23, 2016.

RCW 29A.32.280 calls for the legislative authority responsible for proposing a ballot proposition to formally appoint a committee to prepare arguments for voters' approval of the measure and to formally appoint a committee to prepare arguments for voters' rejection of the measure for inclusion in the local voters' pamphlet.

RCW 29A.32.280 instructs the legislative authority to appoint persons known to favor the measure to serve on the committee for approval, and whenever possible, to appoint persons known to oppose the measure to serve on the committee for rejection. Each committee shall have no more than three members, however state law allows for a committee to seek the advice of any person or persons.

MOTION:

It is hereby moved that the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority appoint, for Pierce County, Norm Dicks, Pat McCarthy, and Marilyn Strickland to the committee to prepare arguments for approval of the Sound Transit proposition, and appoint Chuck Collins, Tim Eyman, and Mike Lonergan to the committee to prepare arguments in opposition to voters' approval of the Sound Transit proposition, and that the chief executive officer provide appropriate notification to the Pierce County Auditor of the appointment of said committees and their members.

It is hereby moved that the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority appoint, for King County, Dow Constantine, Christine Gregoire, and Rick Steves to the committee to prepare arguments in support of voters' approval of the Sound Transit proposition, and appoint Chuck Collins, Tim Eyman, and Toby Nixon to the committee to prepare arguments in opposition to voters' approval of the Sound Transit proposition, and that the chief executive officer provide appropriate notification to the King County Elections Director of the appointment of said committees and their members.

It is hereby moved that the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority appoint, for Snohomish County, Jennifer Gregerson, Ray Stephanson, and Rick Steves to the committee to prepare arguments in support of voters' approval of the Sound Transit proposition, and appoint Chuck Collins, Tim Eyman, and Gary Nelson to the committee to prepare arguments in opposition to voters' approval of the Sound Transit proposition, and that the chief executive officer provide appropriate notification to the Snohomish County Auditor of the appointment of said committees and their members.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular

meeting thereof held on July 28, 2016.

at McCarthy

Board Chair Pro Tem

ATTEST:

Kathryn Flores

Board Administrator