

Motion No. M2019-124

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing a Sound Transit Board Chair and one Vice Chair to complete the remainder of the unexpired two-year terms, beginning January 1, 2020 and ending December 31, 2020.

Background

Section 3.4.1 of Resolution No. R2018-45, the Board's Rules and Operating Procedures, states that terms of the Board officers shall be set at two years. The terms of John Marchione, the current Chair, and Paul Roberts and Kent Keel, the current Vice Chairs of the Sound Transit Board expire on December 31, 2020. Chair John Marchione is leaving the Board at the end of 2019 when his local term in office ends.

Section 3.4.3 of Resolution No. R2018-45, specifies that in the event of a Board chair or Vice Chair vacancy before the term expires, the Executive Committee develops recommendations to the Board for the remainder of the unexpired term. The recommendations are brought as nominations to the Board at the next regular Board meeting.

On December 12, 2019, the Executive Committee nominated Pierce County Boardmember Kent Keel as Board Chair to fill the vacancy for the remainder of John Marchione's term as Board Chair. The Executive Committee also nominated King County Boardmember Dow Constantine as Vice Chair to fill the vacancy for the remainder of Kent Keel's two-year term as Vice Chair.

Motion

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that Kent Keel from Pierce County be elected Board Chair, and Dow Constantine from King County be elected Vice Chair to complete the remainder of the unexpired two-year terms, beginning January 1, 2020 and ending December 31, 2020.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on December 19, 2019.

Attest:

Kathryn Flores Board Administrator

John Marchione Board Chair