

Agenda

Sound Transit Board Meeting Thursday, December 16, 2021 2:30 to 5:00 p.m. **NOTE TIME**

Virtual Meeting via Video and Telephone Conference

To limit the spread of COVID-19, this meeting is taking place virtually. To hear the meeting audio, call 415-655-0002 or 206-207-1700, then enter access code: 146 296 9588 and pin code: #. To view the video: https://soundtransit.webex.com/soundtransit/onstage/g.php? MTID=efed4b0925902f8dc09f9919c57b4b64e, if a password is not already entered, enter the following password: Agency.

Kent Keel, Board Chair, Presiding

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Roll call of members
- 3. Report of the Chair
- 4. CEO report
- 5. Public comment

The Board is accepting virtual and written public comment on items on today's agenda. Individuals who would like to provide live virtual public comment via phone or computer <u>must sign-up in advance on the meeting page</u>. Written comments can be submitted electronically via <u>emailtheboard@soundtransit.org</u>. Written comments received up to one hour before the meeting will be provided to Board members electronically during the meeting, comments received after that deadline will be provided to Board members after the meeting.

6. Consent Agenda

The Board will consider a single action to approve all items on the consent agenda.

- Voucher Certification: November 2021
- Minutes: November 18, 2021 Board Meeting
- Motion No. M2021-76: Reappointing Dr. James Peyton to the Citizen Oversight Panel to serve a second term of four years beginning December 1, 2021, and expiring November 30, 2025.

7. Business Items

A. **Motion No. M2021-82:** Supplementing the Board's rules to allow a one-year term for the Board Chair and Vice Chairs in 2022. Two-year terms for the Board chair and vice chairs would resume after December 31, 2022.

CHAIR

Kent Keel University Place Councilmember

VICE CHAIRS

Dow Constantine *King County Executive*

Paul Roberts Everett Councilmember

BOARD MEMBERS

Nancy Backus Auburn Mayor

David Baker Kenmore Mayor

Claudia Balducci King County Council Chair

Bruce Dammeier Pierce County Executive

> Jenny Durkan Seattle Mayor

Debora Juarez Seattle Councilmember

Joe McDermott King County Council Vice Chair

Roger Millar Washington State Secretary of Transportation

Ed Prince Renton Councilmember

> Kim Roscoe Fife Mayor

Nicola Smith Lynnwood Mayor

Dave Somers Snohomish County Executive

Dave Upthegrove *King County Councilmember*

Peter von Reichbauer King County Councilmember

Kristina Walker Tacoma Councilmember

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Peter M. Rogoff

- B. Motion No. M2021-83: Electing the Sound Transit Board Chair and two Vice Chairs for a twoyear term each, beginning January 1, 2022 and ending December 31, 2023.
- C. **Resolution No. R2021-21:** Adopting an annual budget for the period from January 1 through December 31, 2022.
- D. **Motion No. M2021-81:** Identifying a preferred alternative and other alternatives for study in the Final Environmental Impact Statement for the Operations and Maintenance Facility South.

8. Reports to the Board

- West Seattle and Ballard Link Extensions update
- Diversity Oversight Committee Presentation Mark Martinez, Chair
- Update on Sound Transit's Anti-Racist Strategy
- 9. Executive Session (if needed)

10. Other business

11. Next meeting:

Thursday, January 27, 2022 1:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Virtually via WebEx

12. Adjourn