

## Motion No. M2025-05

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing a Sound Transit Board Vice Chair from Pierce County for a two-year Vice Chair term, beginning January 23, 2025 and ending December 31, 2026.

## **Background**

The Board's Rules and Operating Procedures, adopted in Resolution No. R2023-01, include the requirements for the election of the Board chair and two vice chairs. The rules state that the Board chair and vice chairs must all be from different counties and serve two-year terms that coincide with calendar years. The Executive Committee must develop recommendations to the Board for the selection of Board chairs and vice chairs when those terms are expiring. The recommendations are brought as nominations to the Board at a regularly scheduled meeting before the terms expire.

In December 2024, the Board approved Motion No. M2024-82 to elect Dave Somers from Snohomish County as Board chair and Claudia Balducci from King County as a vice chair for two-year terms beginning January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2026.

In December 2024, the Board approved Motion No. M2024-81 to supplement the Board's Rules to allow the election of a vice chair from Pierce County to take place after December 31, 2024.

The Pierce County Council confirmed the nomination of Ryan Mello, Pierce County Executive, at a meeting held on January 21, 2025. The confirmation has fully reconstituted the Pierce County delegation of the Sound Transit Board, so the election of a vice chair from Pierce County can take place.

Due to the timing of the confirmation, the Executive Committee was unable to formally consider Pierce County vice chair nominations and forward a recommendation to the Board.

## **Motion**

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that Board member Ryan Mello from Pierce County be elected Board Vice Chair beginning January 23, 2025 and ending December 31, 2026.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on January 23, 2025.

Dave Somers Board Chair

Attest:

Kathryn Flores Board Administrator

Motion No. M2025-05 Page 1 of 1