Bellevue community leader Larry Shannon appointed to Sound Transit's Citizen Oversight Panel, eight other members re-appointed

Publish Date

The board of Sound Transit - the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority - unanimously supported the appointment of Bellevue community leader Larry Shannon to the Sound Transit Citizen Oversight Panel. Comprised of citizens throughout the Sound Transit three-county district, the panel serves as an independent body responsible for reviewing the performance of Sound Transit. 

Shannon is currently chair of both the Bellevue Transportation Commission and the King County Citizens Water Quality Advisory Committee. A retired civil engineer, Shannon's 25-year career included numerous leadership positions with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

Shannon fills a vacancy created by the resignation of Terry Lukens, a Bellevue resident. Sound Transit's policies require that the membership of the Citizen Oversight Panel equitably represent each geographic area of the three-county Sound Transit district, and vacancies should be replaced by a person from the same area as the former member.

The board also approved the reappointment of eight current members to three-year terms: Bruce Agnew, Edmonds; Diane Carlson, Tacoma; Steve Goldblatt, Seattle; Fred Hart, Seattle; Kristi Mandt, West Seattle; David Osaki, Federal Way; Reid Shockey, Everett; and Al Stipe, Federal Way. 

# # #

Sound Transit plans, builds and operates regional transit systems and services to improve mobility for Central Puget Sound.