Sound Transit search committee narrows field of candidates for permanent executive director

Publish Date

The Sound Transit Board's search committee on Friday selected five potential finalists for the permanent Sound Transit Executive Director position. Search Committee Chairman John Ladenburg, the Pierce County Executive, said the names of the finalists will be made public on Wednesday, June 6, 2001.

The search committee voted in an open session following an executive session on Friday, substituting numbers for the candidates' names. Job applicant names and other personal information are exempt from public disclosure under state law.

"We will make the names public on Wednesday," said Mr. Ladenburg, "after the finalists are notified and indicate their willingness to advance in the process. This is to avoid embarrassment for any candidate who chooses not to proceed."

"These are excellent candidates," added Ladenburg, "I hope they all choose to go forward in the process."

The finalists are expected in Seattle on Friday, June 8 and Saturday, June 9 for an orientation and final interviews. The Board search committee is scheduled to meet in executive session on June 9 to conduct the final interviews. Following the executive session, the committee is expected to reconvene in open session in the Sound Transit Board Room, located at Union Station, 401 South Jackson Street, to discuss and then formulate its recommendation.

The full Board plans to meet on Tuesday, June 12 at 10 a.m. in the Sound Transit Board Room to consider the search committee's recommendation and appoint a permanent director.

Besides Mr. Ladenburg, the search committee includes Sound Transit Boardmembers Dave Earling, Richard McIver and Jim White. Ray Gould of the Sound Transit Citizen Oversight Panel is also on the committee.

# # #

Sound Transit plans, builds and operates regional transit systems and services to improve mobility for Central Puget Sound.