Executive leadership

Goran (Jer-AHN) Sparrman is the interim CEO of Sound Transit. He is widely known and respected for his work throughout our region, bringing over 30 years of experience in the public and private sectors. 

Before Sound Transit, Sparrman was a business development officer and vice president at HNTB Corporation, a major infrastructure firm. Before joining HNTB, he was the deputy director and interim director of the Seattle Department of Transportation from 2011 to 2014, where he led the planning, design, building, maintenance, and operations of Seattle’s transportation infrastructure. As well, Sparrman served as the director of the City of Bellevue Transportation Department for 12 years, where he worked closely with Sound Transit on planning for the East Link Extension. 

In addition to the executive leadership experience, Sparrman is considered a thought leader and trusted advisor by several local civic, elected, nonprofit, and jurisdictional partners.  

Sparrman is a licensed professional engineer in Washington and holds the equivalent of both a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in civil engineering from Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, Sweden. 

Executive leadership team

Russ Arnold, Deputy CEO (Chief Service Delivery Officer)

Mary Cummings, Deputy CEO (Chief Administrative Officer)

Kathy Albert, Chief Strategic Business Officer

Andrew Austin, Acting Executive Director—Government & Community Relations

Don Billen, Executive Director—Planning, Environmental & Project Development

Desmond Brown, General Counsel

Maria Doucettperry, Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer

Chris Elwell, Acting Executive Director—Labor Relations

Nora Friend, Chief Communications and Engagement Officer

Moises Gutierrez, Chief System Quality Officer

John Henry, Chief Financial Officer

Juan Higuera, Agency Chief of Staff

Julie Honeywell, Chief Human Resources Officer

Luke Lamon, Acting Chief Communications Officer

Ron Lewis, Executive Director—Design, Engineering & Construction Management

Ted Lucas, Chief Procurement & Contracts Officer

Marie Olson, Acting Chief Passenger Experience & Innovation Officer

Suraj Shetty, Executive Director—Operations

Jason Weiss, Chief Information Officer

David Wright, Chief Safety Officer